Competition and non-competition films as well as names of the jury members were presented

21 June 2019

On June 21 competition and non-competition films of the 16th Golden Apricot International Film Festival as well as names of the jury members were presented to the journalists.

Program Director of the Golden Apricot IFF Karen Avetisyan presented International Competition, Regional Short Film Competition, Regional Panorama, "Savage Apricot" program, and retrospective screenings.

International Full-Lenght Competition includes 12 films: Ray & Liz, Aidiyet, Oleg, Xquipi' Guie'dani, Répertoire Des Villes Disparues, Talking About Trees, Aglumi, Dylda, Midnight Traveller, Gospod Postoi, Imeto I' E Petrunija, Winter After Winter, Stateless Diplomat, Erken Kisher.

Head of International Department of the Golden Apricot IFF Varvara Hovhannisyan presented ''Yerevan Premieres'' program, which includes films from the most prestigious festivals, such as Cannes, Berlin, Rotterdam IFF. ''Yerevan Premieres'' program inludes such films as Synonyms by Nadav Lapid, Present.Perfect. by Zhu Shengze, The Man Who Surprised Everyone by Aleksey Chupov, Natalya Merkulova, By The Grace of God  by Francois Ozon, Parasite by Bong Joon-ho etc.

The regional panorama program includes 13 films: 3 from Armenia, Turkey and Iran, 2 films from Georgia and one from Azerbaijan.

The regional short film competition will feature 25 films from Armenia, Turkey, Iran and Georgia. 

Within the frameworks of the Retrospective program the screening of the films by the special guests of the festival will be held. Four films by Carlos Reygadas and two films by Arthur Aristakisyan will be presented.

Five films will be presented within "Savage Apricot" program. This is, perhaps the most sophisticated program of the festival combined by art critic Vigen Galstyan. It consists of consisting of radical, controversial, experimental, and sometimes extreme films.

During the press conference information about the festival jury was also announced.

The jury president of the International Long-Term Competition Program is Aleksandr Mindadze. The jury consists of director Nicolas Wadimoff  (Switzerland), director, Tehran International Film Festival President Reza Mirkarimi  (Iran), producer, Executive Director of Tribeca Film Festival Amy Hobby  (USA), producer Elizabeth Karlsen (UK), film critic Paolo Bertolin (Italy), actress, director Nino Kirtadze (France).

The jury president of the regional short film competition is director Pippo Mezzapesa  (Italy). The jury also includes օperator Norayr Kasper (Canada) and Clermont-Ferrand Film Festival Program Director Georges Bollon.