The Hunt
The Hunt

The Hunt

Director Thomas Vinterberg

Production year 2012

Length 111min.

Country Denmark


Following a tough divorce, 40-year-old Lucas has a new girlfriend, a new job and is in the process of reestablishing his relationship with his teenage son, Marcus. But things go awry. Not a lot. Just a passing remark. A random lie. And as the snow falls and the Christmas lights are lit, the lie spreads like an invisible virus. The shock and mistrust get out of hand, and the small community suddenly finds itself in a state of collective hysteria, while Lucas fights for his life and dignity. 


Thomas Vinterberg
Thomas Vinterberg



Morten Kaufmann, Sisse Graum Jørgensen


Morten Kaufmann, Sisse Graum Jørgensen

Director of Photography

Charlotte Bruus Christensen

Production designer

Charlotte Bruus Christensen

Music by

Nikolaj Egelund


Thomas Jæger


Janus Billeskov Jansen, Anne Østerud


Susse Wold, Thomas Bo Larsen, Lars Ranthe, Anne Louise Hassing, Bjarne Henriksen, Mads Mikkelsen

Production company(ies)

Zentropa Entertainments 19 ApS, Filmbyen, Avedøre Tværvej 10, 2650 Hvidovre

Thomas Vinterberg

Graduate of the National Film School of Denmark, 1993. Vinterberg was, together with Lars von Trier, Søren Kragh-Jacobsen and Kristian Levring, one of the four original Dogme brothers. His international break through The Celebration (1998), the first film adhering to the Dogme concept, won the Jury Award in Cannes, and his two English-language films that followed, It’s All about Love (2003) and Dear Wendy (2005), were selected for Sundance. In 2010, Submarino was selected for Berlin’s main competition, and the film won the Nordic Council Film Prize. Selected for Cannes Competition (2012), The Hunt won the Best Actor Award and the Ecumenical Jury Award, and DP Charlotte Bruus Christensen was honoured with the Prix Vulcain, the technical achievement award.


The Boy Who Walked Backwards (1994), Last Round (1993), The Biggest Heroes (1996), The Celebration (1998), The Third Lie (2000), It's All about Love (2003), Dear Wendy (2005), A Man Comes Home (2007), Submarino (2010), The Hunt (2012), Far from the Madding Crowd (2015), The Commune (2016).

FILMS 2016