The Commune
The Commune

The Commune

Director Thomas Vinterberg

Production year 2016

Length 111min.

Country Denmark


Erik and Anna are a couple of academics with a dream. With their daughter Freja, they set up a commune in Erik's huge villa in an upmarket district of Copenhagen. With the family at the centre of the story, we are invited into their dream of a real commune. We participate in the house meetings, the dinners and parties. There is friendship, love and togetherness under one roof, until an earth-shattering love affair puts the small community to its greatest test. The film is a humorous and delicate; but also painful and touching portrait of an entire generation, a gentle yet confrontational declaration of love for a group of idealists and dreamers, who have long since awakened to reality.


Thomas Vinterberg
Thomas Vinterberg



Sisse Graum Jørgensen, Morten Kaufmann


Thomas Vinterberg, Tobias Lindholm

Director of Photography

Jesper Tøffner

Production designer

Niels Sejer

Music by

Fons Merkies


Anne Jensen, Kristian Selin, Eidnes Andersen


Anne Østerud, Janus Billeskov


Stars: Trine Dyrholm, Ulrich Thomsen, Helene Reingaard Neumann, Martha Sofie Wallstrøm Hansen

Production company(ies)

Zentropa Productions2 ApS, Filmbyen Avedøre, Tværvej 10, 2650 Hvidovre

Thomas Vinterberg

Graduate of the National Film School of Denmark, 1993. Vinterberg was, together with Lars von Trier, Søren Kragh-Jacobsen and Kristian Levring, one of the four original Dogme brothers. His international break through The Celebration (1998), the first film adhering to the Dogme concept, won the Jury Award in Cannes, and his two English-language films that followed, It’s All about Love (2003) and Dear Wendy (2005), were selected for Sundance. In 2010, Submarino was selected for Berlin’s main competition, and the film won the Nordic Council Film Prize. Selected for Cannes Competition (2012), The Hunt won the Best Actor Award and the Ecumenical Jury Award, and DP Charlotte Bruus Christensen was honoured with the Prix Vulcain, the technical achievement award.


The Boy Who Walked Backwards (1994), Last Round (1993), The Biggest Heroes (1996), The Celebration (1998), The Third Lie (2000), It's All about Love (2003), Dear Wendy (2005), A Man Comes Home (2007), Submarino (2010), The Hunt (2012), Far from the Madding Crowd (2015), The Commune (2016).

FILMS 2016