The Armenian
The Armenian

The Armenian

Director Harutyun Khachatryan

Production year 2016

Length 30min.

Country Armenia


The film is dedicated to the 11th anniversary of friendship and cooperation between GOLDEN APRICOT Yerevan International Film Festival and Ralph Yirikian. It will be part of the documentary "Those Who Return", which will continue Harutyun Khachatryan's "Endless Escape, Eternal Return" documentary film series. "The Armenian" tells the story of Ralph Yirikian's return to homeland.


Harutyun Khachatryan
Harutyun Khachatryan



Harutyun Khachatryan, Mikayel Stamboltsyan

Director of Photography

Vrezh Petrosyan, Suren Tadevosyan


Hayk Israelyan


Tigran Baghinyan

Production company(ies)

Golden Apricot FCD

Harutyun Khachatryan

Khachatryan is a director, producer, scriptwriter, and Honored Artist of RA. He graduated from the Film Department of the Faculty of Culture of the Armenian State Pedagogical University in 1981. Between 1981-1986, he worked as an assistant director and film director at the Armenian Documentary Studio and between 1987 – 2005, he worked in Hayfilm Studio as Director and Producer. He has directed films that have been awarded at various international film festivals. He received the State Award of Armenia for his film Documentarist, the Award of President of RA and Hayak National Cinema Award for Border. Since 2006, Khachatryan is a voting member of European Film Academy, Director of Golden Apricot FCD, and since 2004 the Co-founder and the General Director of Golden Apricot Yerevan IFF. Khachatryan was awarded with the Prince Klaus Award in 2007. In 2008, he became a Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters by the Ministry of Culture of France.


The Voices of the District (1981, short), Hosted by the Commander (1985, short, doc.), Chronicle of a Case (1985, short, doc.), Three Rounds from Vladimir Yengibaryan’s Life (1986, short, doc.), Kond (1987, short, doc.), White Town (1988, short, doc.), The Wind of Emptiness (1989), Return to the Promised Land(1991), Last Station (1994), The Documentarist (2003), Return of the Poet (2006), Border (2009), Endless Escape, Eternal Return (2012), Deadlock (2016).

FILMS 2016