Director Vigen Chaldranian

Production year 1985

Length 30min.

Country Armenia


The film takes place in a small mountainous Armenian village on the 24th of April, the Memorial Day of the Armenian genocide of 1915. The heroes of the film, their descendants, who had barely escaped the massacre, recollect the episodes of national history and carry their memories on to their children and grandchildren.


Vigen Chaldranian
Vigen Chaldranian



Ruben Hovespyan

Director of Photography

Vrezh Petrosyan

Production designer

Vardan Sedrakyan

Music by

Avet Terteryan


Yuri Sayadyan


Karen Janibekyan, Anahit Ghukasyan, Levon Nersisyan, Zareh Ter-Karapetyan, Ara Stepanyan

Production company(ies)

Hayfilm Studio Pushkin Str. 38 0010 Yerevan Armenia

Vigen Chaldranian

Film director, scriptwriter, producer and actor. Vigen Chaldranian entered Yerevan Institute of Art and Theatre in 1975, and after graduating from the Department of Art of Acting, studied Theatre Directing at the same institute. Later he studied in the department of Film Directing at Moscow All-Union State University of Cinematography (VGIK) where in 1978, he shot his first short film Gold Laughs, based on Jack London’s story. Vigen Chaldranian has created nineteen films. In 2001, the President of the Republic of Armenia awarded him the Movses Khorenatsi Medal. In 2006, Chaldranyan was awarded RA Union of Cinematographers’ Anahit Award for his contributions to Armenian cinematography. In 2007, he was given the title of the Honorary Worker of Art of the Republic of Armenia. In 2008, Chaldranyan was elected as a Full member, academician of the International Academy of Sciences of Nature and Society. In the same year the Western European Academy of Sciences and Arts awarded him Professor Sofi Takhalova’s Golden Star Award (Netherlands). The European Academy of Natural Sciences awarded him Gold Cross of Ludwig II of Bavaria (Germany, 2009). In 2010, the US branch of Russian Academy of Natural Sciences awarded him the title of academician along with the Crown and Eagle Medal for his contribution to filmmaking. In 2010, the Fridtjof Nansen Fund in Armenia awarded him the Fridtjof Nansen Golden Medal. Chaldranian has also received prizes and diplomas at various International film festivals


April (1985), A Voice in the Wilderness… (1991), My Farewell to be… (1993), Armenians (1994), …I Returned Home (1993), Chrism (1996), Lord, Have Mercy (1997), Symphony of Silence (2001), The Priestess (2007), Tours in Japan (2009), Maestro (2010), The voice of Siilence (2013).

FILMS 2015