Director Jia Zhangke

Production year 1997

Length 105min.

Country China


Little pocket thief Wu never got away from the streets like his friends did. He realises that he is alone, as his old buddy doesn't invite him for his wedding. When he falls in love with a hooker he is forced to think about his future. Can he break with his criminal past?


NETPAC Award, Wolfgang Staudte Award | Berlin IFF, Germany, 1998

New Currents Award | Pusan IFF, South Korea, 1998

SKYY Prize | San Francisco IFF, USA, 1999

Dragons and Tigers Award | Vancouver IFF, Canada, 1998


Jia Zhangke
Jia Zhangke



Jia Zhangke, Kit Ming Li


Jia Zhangke

Director of Photography

Yu Lik-wai

Production designer

Jing Dong Liang


Yang Zhang


Xiao Ling Yu


Hongwei Wang, Hao Hongjian, Zuo Baitao, Ma Jinrei, Liu Junying

Production company(ies)

Hu Tong Communication,s Radiant Advertissing Company

Jia Zhangke

Born 1970, Fengyang, China) Zhangke studied painting, developed an interest in fiction, and in 1995 founded the Youth Experimental Film Group, for which he directed two award-winning videos. He graduated in 1997 from the Beijing Film Academy, and his first feature, Pickpocket (1997) was very successful at the Berlin, Nantes and Vancouver festivals. The following films Platform and Unknown Pleasures were selected in competition respectively at Venice and Cannes. He established Xstream Pictures in 2003 in order to promote young talented directors from all over China. His Still Life received the Golden Lion Award at the Venice Film Festival 2006.


One Day in Beijing (1994, short), Xiaoshan Going Home (1995, short), Du Du (1996, short), Pickpocket (1997), Platform (2000), In Public (2001, short), The Condition of Dogs (2001, short), Unknown Pleasures (2002), The World (2004), Dong (2006, doc.), Still Life (2006), Our Ten Years (2007, short), Useless (2007, doc.) Stories on Human Rights (2008, segment Black Breakfast), 24 City (2008), Cry Me a River (2008, short), I Wish I Knew (2010, doc.), Yulu (2011, doc.), A Touch of Sin (2013).

FILMS 2014