Director Harutyun Khachatryan

Production year 2003

Length 80min.

Country Armenia


The main protogonist of the film is the documentary film director, who with his small crew records various subjects. Seemingly unrelated themes are juxtaposed to construct a mosaic of Armenia in the 1990s: children-beggars, disabled children abandoned by their parents, newly born infants, refugees, homeless dogs, guilty and innocent prisoners… The tragedy of a society in transition… And hope, born out of extreme despair.


Special Mention | Karlovy Vary IFF, Czech Republic, 2003

State Award of Armenia | , Armenia, 2004

Vahagn Award | , Armenia, 2004

Best Director Award | Arsenal IFF, Riga, Latvia, 2004


Harutyun Khachatryan
Harutyun Khachatryan



Harutyun Khachatryan, Mikayel Stamboltsyan, Valeri Gasparyan

Director of Photography

Vahagn Ter-Hakobyan

Production designer

Vardan Sedrakyan

Music by

Avet Terteryan


Anahit Kesayan


Sophia Gabrielyan


Suren Babayan, Harutyun Javazyan {Haroutik}, Kostas Kalafatis {Ekmekchyan}, Agata Vanunts, Ruben Khachatryan, Levon Ghazaryan, Susanna Ghazaryan

Production company(ies)

Hayfilm Studio

Harutyun Khachatryan

Born 1955, Akhalkalak, Georgia) In 1981, Harutyun Khachatryan graduated from the Film Department of the Faculty of Culture of Yerevan State Pedagogical Institute. Worked as an assistant director and director at the Armenian Documentary Studio and later at Hayfilm Studio. His films won many prizes at various IFFs. In 2003, he received the State Award of Armenia. Meritorious Artist of Republic of Armenia. In 2007, Harutyun Khachatryan received Prince Klaus Award (The Netherlands). In 2008, he became a Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters, by the Ministry of Culture of France.


The Voices of the District (1981, short), Hosted by the Commander (1985, short), Chronicle of a Case (1985, short), Three Rounds from Vladimir Yengibaryan’s Life (1986, short), Kond (1987, short), White Town (1988, short),The Wind of Emptiness (1989), Return to the Promised Land (1991), The Last Station (1994), Documentarist (2003), Return of the Poet (2005), Border (2009), Endless Escape, Eternal Return (2012).

FILMS 2014