Hannah Arendt
Hannah Arendt

Hannah Arendt

Director Margarethe von Trotta

Production year 2012

Length 113min.

Country Germany/Luxembourg/France


The film takes place in April 1961- the German-Jewish political philosopher, Hannah Arendt, leaves her New York exile for Jerusalem to report on the Adolf Eichmann trial for The New Yorker. When Arendt's articles appear they unleash a worldwide wave of outrage. She sees Eichmann not as the monster, as the world opinion does, but recognizes him as a pen-pushing killer who wanted to carry out his task to the best of his ability and feels no guilt because he was merely following orders. Arendt's courageous perception has international consequences. She is despised, vilified and loses lifelong friends. She maintains, however, her consistent posture, seeking to understand, even if that means "thinking till it hurts."


Silver Spike (Best Film) | Valladolid IFF, Spain, 2012

Best Actress | Bavarian Film Awards, Germany, 2013

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role, Outstanding Feature Film | German Film Awards, Germany, 2013


Margarethe von Trotta
Margarethe von Trotta



Bettina Brokemper, Johannes Rexin


Bettina Brokemper, Johannes Rexin

Director of Photography

Caroline Champetier

Production designer

Volker Schäfer

Music by

André Mergenthaler


Michael Busch


Bettina Böhler


Barbara Sukowa, Axel Milberg, Janet McTeer

Production company(ies)

Heimatfilm GmbH & Co KG

Margarethe von Trotta

Born 1942, Berlin, Germany. Margarethe von Trotta ranks among the most important female directors in German cinema since the 1970s. During this time she also made a name for herself as an actress. Today she is primarily active as a screenwriter and director.


The Lost Honour of Katharina Blum (1975), The Second Awakening of Christa Klages (1978), Sisters, or the Balance of Happiness (1979), Marianne and Juliane/Die bleierne Zeit (1981), Sheer Madness (1983), Rosa Luxembourg (1986), Felix (segnment Eve, 1988), Fear and Love (1988), The African Woman/Die Ruckkehr (1990), Long Silence/Zeit der Zorhns (1993), The Promise (1994), Winter Child (1997, TV), With Fifty Differently Kissing Men (1999), Dark Days (1999, TV) Anniversaries (2000, TV mini-series), The Other Woman (2003, TV), Rosenstrasse (2003), I am the Other Woman (2006), Tatort (episode Among us, 2007), Vision (2009), The Sister (2010, TV), Never for Love (2012, TV mini-series), Hannah Arendt (2012).

FILMS 2013