The Double Steps
The Double Steps

The Double Steps

Director Isaki Lacuesta

Production year 2011

Length 87min.

Country Spain/Switzerland


The best way to escape from your pursuers without leaving any trail is to walk backwards, in your own footprints. That is what François Augiéras believed. He covered an army bunker in the desert with paintings, and then let it sink into the sand so that no one would find it until the 21st century. But who is Augiéras? Legionnaire, painter, writer, gunman, saint, thief, devil or a mixture of all those?


Best Film -Golden Seashell | San Sebastian IFF, Spain, 2011


Isaki Lacuesta
Isaki Lacuesta



Luisa Matienzo, Dan Wechsler


Isa Campo, Isaki Lacuesta

Director of Photography

Diego Dussuel

Production designer

Sebastián Birchler

Music by

Gerard Gil


Amanda Villavieja


Domi Parra


Bokar Dembele alias Bouba, Miquel Barceló, Alou Cissé alias Zol, Hamadoun Kassogue

Production company(ies)

Tusitala P. C. (España) Bord Cadre Films (Suiza) Televisión Española (TVE)

Isaki Lacuesta

Born 1975, Girona, Catalonia, Spain. His first feature film, Cravan vs Cravan (2002) won awards at several international festivals. The Spanish critics described it as the best first film of the year and recognized this achievement with a RNE-Sant Jordi Award. Among other prizes, it received the Best New Director Award and the Audience Award for Best Film at the IFF of Sitges. His short films have participated in various festivals. Isaki has also written several feature film scripts. He has contributed articles about cinema, music and literature. His latest feature film, The Legend of Time has been selected for the Rotterdam IFF. Lacuesta has been described as one of the most promising young spanish filmmakers and the publishing house Phaidon Press included him in the book Take 100 as one of the hundred filmmakers who will shape the future of world cinema. He has released four feature films, as well as numerous short films and installations for exhibitions.


Faces vs. Faces (2000), Theory Bodies (2004), Cravan vs. Cravan (2002), The Legend of Time (2006), The Damned (2009), The Condemned (2009), The Night That Never Ends (2010), The Clay Diaries (2011), Double Steps (2011).

FILMS 2012