The Weeping Meadow
The Weeping Meadow

The Weeping Meadow

Director Theodoros Angelopoulos

Production year 2003

Length 170min.

Country Greece/France/Germany/Italy


The film is set entirely in Greece between 1919 and 1949. It begins with the entry of the Red Army into Odessa and the flight of the Greek community there, and ends in 1949 with the end of the Greek civil war.


FIPRESCI Prize | European Film Awards, , 2004

Special Jury Award | Fajr FF, Tehran, Iran, 2005


Theodoros Angelopoulos
Theodoros Angelopoulos



Phoebe Economopoulos


Theodoros Angelopoulos in collaboration with Tonino Guerra, Petros Markaris, Giorgio Silvagni

Director of Photography

Andreas Sinanos

Production designer

Kostas Lambropoulos

Music by

Eleni Karaindrou


Marinos Athanassopoulos


Giorgos Triantafyllou


Alexandra Aidini, Nikos Poursanidis, Giorgos Armenis, Vassilis Kolovos Eva Kotamanidou, Toula Stathopoulou, Michalis Yannatos, Thalia Argyriou, Grigoris Evangelatos

Production company(ies)

Theo Angelopoulos Films, Greek Film Centre, Hellenic Broadcasting Corporation, ERT S.A., Attica Art Productions (Athens), BAC Films S.A., Intermedias S.A., Arte France

Theodoros Angelopoulos

Born 1935, Athens․ He studied law at the University of Athens. After completing his military service, he went to Paris to attend Sorbonne, and then enrolled in the prestigious French film school, IDHEC, to study film. He worked for a time at the Musée de l'Homme under the tutelage of Jean Rouch, the ethnographer and pioneer of cinema verite. He returned to Athens in 1964 and, until 1967, was a film critic for the leftist paper Democratic Change. He began to make films at around 1965 – an attempt at a full-length feature film entitled The Forminx Story, which he never completed after a disagreement with the producers – and then a short film Broadcast. In 1970 came his first full-length feature film Reconstruction. Since then his films have been featured in countless international festivals and have won numerous awards, which have established his reputation as one of the most influential directors in contemporary cinema.


Forminx Story (1965), The Broadcast (1968), Reconstruction (1970), Days of ’36 (1972), The Travelling Players (1974-75), The Hunters (1977), Megalexandros (1980), One Village, One Villager (1981, TV), Athens, Return to the Acropolis (1983, TV), Voyage to Cythera (1983), The Bee-Keeper (1986), Landscape in the Mist (1988), The Suspended Step of the Stork (1991), Ulysse’s Gaze (1995), Lumiere and Company (segment, 1995), Eternity and a Day (1998), The Weeping Meadow (2003), To Each His Own Cinema (segment Trois Minutes, 2007), Dust of Time (2008)

FILMS 2010