The Passenger
The Passenger

The Passenger

Director Stanislav Govorukhin

Production year 2008

Length 94min.

Country Russia


In 1882 a beautiful young Russian passenger and her maid are returning home from the US aboard a battleship. Everyone, even the Captain, is attracted to the young woman. Even a duel is fought to win her heart. The story is full of emotions, and intriguing developments, but first of all, the film is about pride, dignity and the true courage of Russian sailors.


The Big Golden Boat Prize | Okno v Evropu FF, Vyborg, Russia, 2008

Grand Prix | Moscow Premier FF, Russia, 2008


Stanislav Govorukhin
Stanislav Govorukhin



Stanislav Govorukhin


Stanislav Govorukhin, Story by: Konstantin Stanyukovich

Director of Photography

Yuri Klimenko

Production designer

Valentin Gidulyanov

Music by

Aleksei Ribnikov


Alexander Poghosyan


Vera Kruglova


Anna Gorshkova, Irina Pegova, Viktor Sukhorukov, Marat Basharov, Aleksei Koryakov, Sergey Nikonenko, Roman Madyanov

Production company(ies)

Vertikal Film Studio

Stanislav Govorukhin

Film director, scriptwriter, and actor. The People’s Artist of Russia, a member of the Union of Cinematographers of RF. In 1958 graduated from Kazan State University, Department of Geology, and worked as an editor and assistant director at Kazan TV Studio. In 1966 graduated from the Department of Film Directing of Moscow All-Union Institute University of Cinema (Yakov Segel’s workshop). From 1965 to 1988 was the production director of Odessa Film Studio. From 1987 to 1988 he was the head of Soviet Film, Odessa branch. He is the founding director of Odesskaya Alternativa (1987) and Zolotoi Dyuk (1988) Film Festivals. Since 1993 Govorukhin has been a Deputy at the State Duma of Russian Federation, and since 1995, the Chairman of the Commission inquiring into the causes and circumstances of the Chechen war. From 1996 to 2000 he was the Chairman of the Commission on Culture, and since 2000 to 2003 - the Deputy Chairman of the Commission on Culture and Tourism. He is the author of 14 scenarios and 4 books.


Vertical (1966), The Day of an Angel (1968), White Explosion (1969), Life and Adventures of Robinson Crusoe (1972), Smuggling (1975), Wind of Hope (1977), The Meeting Place Cannot Be Changed (1979, mini-series), The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn (1981, mini-series), In Search of Captain Grant (1985, mini-series), Ten Little Indians (1987), Splashes of Champagne (1988), You Can’t Live Like That (1990), Russia that We’ve Lost (1992), The Great Criminal Revolution (1994), The Rifleman of the Voroshilov Regiment (1999), Bless the Woman (2003), Not by Bread Alone (2005), The Actress (2007), The Passenger (2008)

FILMS 2010