Short Sharp Shock
Short Sharp Shock

Short Sharp Shock

Director Fatih Akin

Production year 1998

Length 100min.

Country Germany


Costa, a Greek; Bobby, a Serb; Gabriel, a Turk: they used to be part of a neighborhood gang in Hamburg Altona. One for all, all for one. But much has changed since Gabriel went to prison. He has decided to grow up, but his buddies are holding him back. Bobby, in particular, still has dreams of joining the mafia. Only Alice, Bobby's girlfriend, understands Gabriel – better than she understands her boyfriend.


Bronze Leopard | Locarno IFF, Switzerland, 1998

Best Young Director | Bavarian Film Award, Germany, 1998


Fatih Akin
Fatih Akin



Stefan Schubert, Ralph Schwingel


Fatih Akin

Director of Photography

Frank Barbian

Production designer

Guido Amin Fahim

Music by

Ulrich Kodjo Wendt


Kai Lüde


Andrew Bird


Adam Bousdoukos, Regula Grauwiller, Ralph Herforth, Aleksandar Jovanovic, Mehmet Kurtulus, Idil Uener

Production company(ies)

Wüste Filmproduktion

Fatih Akin

Born 1973, Hamburg, Germany. A son of Turkish parent, he studied film at the University Of Fine Arts Of Hamburg, graduating in 2000. From 1993 to 2004 he worked with Wüste Filmproduktion, Hamburg. In 2003, founded Corazon International Film Production Company. 2005, was a visiting professor at the College of Fine Arts of University of Fine Arts of Hamburg.


Sensin – Du bist es!/Sensin…You’re the One! (1995); Getürkt/Weed (1996); Kurz und schmerzlos/Short Shqrp Shock (1998); Im Juli/In July (2000); Denk ich an Deutchland – Wir haben vergessen zurückzukehren (2000); Selmo (2002); Gegen die Wand/Head-On (2004); Visions of Europe (segment Die alten bosen Lieder/The Evil Old Songs, 2004); Crossing the Bridge: The Sound of Istanbul (2005); Auf der anderen Seite/The Edge of Heaven (2007); New York, I Love You (segment, 2009); Deutchland 09: 13 kurtze Filme zur Lage der Nation/Germany 09: 13 Short Films about the State of the Nation (segment Der name Murat Kurnaz/Being Murat Kurnaz, 2008); Soul Kitchen (2009)

FILMS 2010