Director Vigen Chaldranian

Production year 2010

Length 103min.

Country Armenia


Maestro Armen Tigranyan is a native of Yerevan. He and the city are an indissoluble whole, but now sadly disjointed. The city that succoured and developed him into a unique artistic and intellectual individual is now corroding his integrity as a musician, artist and spiritual being. They no longer understand each other, and he is gradually withdrawing into himself, becoming more introverted.
Maestro is a psychological continuation of Kyrie Eleison (Lord, Have Mercy) by the author. These two films can be seen as a unique dilogy, in which the conflict between the individual and society is obvious. This psychological drama can be perceived as a philosophical parable about today’s society.


Vigen Chaldranian
Vigen Chaldranian



Vigen Chaldranian


Vigen Chaldranian,Gurgen Khanjyan

Director of Photography

Suren Tadevosyan

Production designer

Vigen Chaldranian

Music by

Vache Sharafyan


Anna Drozhenko, Hmayak Rostomyan


Tigran Baghinyan


Michael Poghosyan, Karen Janibekyan, Eka Horstka, Eduard Topchyan

Production company(ies)

Chaldranian Production, National Cinema Centre of RA

Vigen Chaldranian

Born 1955, Yerevan, Armenia. Film director, scriptwriter, producer and actor Chaldranian entered Yerevan Institute of Art and Theatre in 1975, and after graduating from the Department of Art of Acting, studied Theatre Directing at the same institute. Later he studied in the department of Film Directing at Moscow All-Union State University of Cinematography (VGIK) where in 1978 he shot his first short film Gold Laughs, based on Jack London’s story. Vigen Chaldranian has created nineteen films. In 2001 the President of the Republic of Armenia awarded him the Movses Khorenatsi Medal. In 2006 he was awarded RA Union of Cinematographers’ Anahit Award for his contributions to Armenian cinematography. In 2007 he was given the title of the Honorary Worker of Art of the Republic of Armenia. In 2008 he was elected as a Full member, academician of the International Academy of Sciences of Nature and Society. In the same year the Western European Academy of Sciences and Arts awarded him Professor Sofi Takhalova’s Golden Star Award (Netherlands). The European Academy of Natural Sciences awarded him “Gold Cross of Ludwig II of Bavaria” (Germany, 2009). In 2010 the US branch of Russian Academy of Natural Sciences awarded him the title of academician (overseas member) along with the Crown and Eagle Medal for his contribution to filmmaking. In 2010 the Fridtjof Nansen Fund in Armenia awarded him the Fridtjof Nansen Golden Medal. Chaldranian has also received prizes and diplomas at various International film festivals.


April (1985), A Voice in the Wilderness… (1991), My Farewell to be… (1993), Armenians (1994), …I Returned Home (1993), Chrism (1996), Lord, Have Mercy (1997), Symphony of Silence (2001), The Priestess (2007), Tours in Japan (2009), Maestro (2010)

FILMS 2010